親愛的家長們、同學們:

12月是節慶之月。冬至則是其中一個與所愛的人歡歌跳舞、齊享佳餚的節慶日子。在天文學上,冬至如約而至,自此晝長夜短。冬至夜,也被稱為「最漫長的夜」。對你而言,哪個夜晚大大改變了世界和我們的人類歷史?很顯然,是「靜夜」。基督為全人類而生。他的救贖使我們與上帝重新聯繫。為了紀念耶穌基督道成肉身,我們謙卑地學習如何實踐上帝的愛,照顧他人的需要。我們總是想到「施比受更有福」(使徒行傳20:3)所傳遞的真理。「施」不僅是我們效法上帝品格的教導方向 —「非以役人,乃役於人」,它更是上帝的命令。

青中的學生擅長體育運動。很欣喜地看到衆多青中學子在田徑、游泳和羽毛球等各項校際比賽中榮獲佳績。學生們完美地展現了他們的勤奮和毅力。沈甸甸的獎牌不僅代表了他們的成就,也是對「永不放棄」精神的實踐。

2021年12月8日,我校合唱團和管弦樂隊在慶祝基督教青年會運動在港成立120周年的感恩儀式上表演。他們以優美的歌聲、嫻熟的長笛和小提琴演奏了讚美詩《主手所造萬象生靈》(《All Creatures of Our God and King》)和《看這世界》(《Look at the World》)。在樂器和聲樂的美妙結合中,營造出和平與和諧的氛圍來讚美主。

近日,我們仍忙於處理2022-2023學年的中一入學申請。家長們都渴望把自己的孩子送到青中,因爲青中是孩子成長路上值得信賴的夥伴。我們也很高興看到申請人對在青中的學習充滿熱情與期待。我們期盼通過我校的特色課程和學術培訓來塑造學生的品格,並陪伴他們走過學習與成長的重要階段。

為了不斷拓寬學生的國際視野,我校於2021年12月21日舉行了「荷蘭日」活動。承蒙荷蘭駐港澳總領事丘德仁先生(Arjen van den Berg)以及民政事務局常任秘書長(特別職務)謝凌潔貞女士到校,出席我校組織的「代爾夫特藍繪畫工作坊」(Dutch Delft Blue Painting Workshop),一同觀賞學生以寓學於樂的方式了解荷蘭代爾夫特藍的歷史和荷蘭文化。而校園内也增置了一隻巨大而色彩鮮艷的荷蘭木屐,為整個活動增添了不少色彩和樂趣。

揮手告別2021之際,我們也回顧過去數月的旅程,並展望2022年的工作新方向。

「在至高之處榮耀歸與神!在地上平安歸與祂所喜悅的人!」(路加福音2:14)

藉此機會祝願大家聖誕快樂,新年進步!

張富華校長

二零二一年十二月廿九日

29th December 2021

Dear Parents and Students,

December is the festive season month. Winter Solstice is one of the celebrations for people to spend time with loved ones, feast, sing and dance. Astronomically, it also marks the beginning of lengthening days and shortening nights. It is also called the ‘Longest Night’. Which night do you think has significantly changed the world and our human history? ‘Silent Night’ is remarkably the answer. Christ was born for all mankind. His salvation brings us to reconnect with God. In remembrance of the incarnation of Jesus Christ, we humbly learn how to practice God’s love to care others’ needs. We always think of the truth of ‘It is better to give than to receive’ (Acts 20:3). Not only does giving reflect God’s character which forms the teaching of our school, ‘to serve others, but not to be served’, but also it is commanded by God.

Ching Chung students are good at sports. It is honourable seeing many students from our school win at various inter-school competitions, like track and field, swimming and badminton. Our students have successfully demonstrated their diligence and perseverance. Their medals not merely represent their achievement but a practice of the ‘NEVER-GIVE UP’ attitude.

Our school choir and orchestra played at the thanksgiving service for The 120th Anniversary Celebration of the Founding of YMCA Movement in Hong Kong on December 8, 2021. Their beautiful voice and skillful play on flutes and violins for the hymns, ‘All Creatures of Our God and King’ and ‘Look at the World’ created a peaceful and harmonious ambience to praise the Lord in a wonderful combination of music instruments and vocal practice.

We are still busy with processing all S1 applications for 2022-2023. Parents are eager to send their children to Ching Chung, a trustworthy partner for supporting children’s growth. We are also glad to see applicants being enthusiastic and excited to their future study in Ching Chung. We are looking forward to building their characters and walking with them in their essential stage of learning and development through our feature curriculum and academic training.

To keep widening student’s global horizon, a Dutch Day program was held in our school on December 21, 2021 with the presence of Consul General of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Hong Kong and Macau, Arjen van den Berg and Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs (Special Duties), Cherry Tse. A Dutch Delft Blue Painting Workshop was organized to provide students with a chance of understanding the history of Delfware in the Netherlands and Dutch culture in a playful manner. A big colorful Dutch clog has been delightfully placed in our school to add more colours and fun to the whole activity.

When we are waving hands to say goodbye to 2021, it is perfect for reflecting on our journeys throughout the past months and visualizing our next steps as we enter into a new one.

“Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.” (Luke 2:14)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Blessings,
Principal Cheung